Home » World » World Food Program receives Nobel Peace Prize

World Food Program receives Nobel Peace Prize

by Financial Economy

World Food Program receives Nobel Peace Prize. Trump, Greta Thunberg and the WHO were considered candidates. Now the Norwegian Nobel Committee has announced: The Nobel Peace Prize goes to the World Food Program. This was justified with the need for multilateralism.

World Food Program receives Nobel Peace Prize

The World Health Organization, climate activist Greta Thunberg, Kremlin critic Alexej Navalny and US President Donald Trump were all candidates. Instead, the United Nations World Food Program received the Nobel Peace Prize.

You can browse here for crypto news.

The UN organization will be honored for its efforts in the fight against hunger and its contribution to the improvement of peace conditions in conflict areas, said the chairman of the committee, Berit Reiss-Andersen, at the award announcement.

The fight against hunger is particularly important in times of the corona pandemic. Preventing hunger helps to create stability and peace in the world. A spokesman for the World Food Program said it was a “proud moment”. The award is considered the most prestigious political award in the world and this time is endowed with ten million Swedish kronor (around 950,000 euros).

Last year it went to the Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed, who was honored above all for his initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea.

Favorites unclear in advance

The field of candidates for the most prestigious political award in the world was large this year – no clear favorite emerged in advance. The WHO and climate activist Thunberg were considered top favorites in the betting shops.

Experts had suspected that the award could go to a journalist organization or young activists from Sudan or Somalia. The Nobel institutions themselves keep the names of the candidates – this year there were 211 personalities and 107 organizations – secret for 50 years.

The Nobel Peace Prize Laureate is the only one of all Nobel Prize winners to be announced and honored not in Stockholm, but in Oslo. The awards will be presented on December 10th, the anniversary of the death of dynamite inventor and prize sponsor Alfred Nobel. This year it will take place in both Oslo and Stockholm due to the coronavirus pandemic in a different and much smaller setting.

Source: https://www.spiegel.de/

Related Posts

Leave a Comment